Dienstag, 27. Mai 2008
This is how the Jewish-Israeli participants IMAGINE PEACE
Jewish-Israeli delegation

1. Adi, age 14,
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
If countries would listen more and be more open to each other instead of creating conflicts, we could bring more peace.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
In my opinion, the main obstacles to peace are the wars that are going on such as the war in Iraq.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
In elementary school, I took part in Israeli – Arab activities about peace in my country.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I could take part in more activities about peace.
____________________________________________
2. Dorel, 9th grade___
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
I think that if we listen more to each other, be ofen to opinions and minds, it will be easier to find peace to our world

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
I think that the obstacles are that we don’t care about others opinions and always want to be right. We just don’t listen to each other.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
So far, I’ve tried to promote peace in my coutry by talking about peace and be believing in world peace.
4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I think that in the future I can be more active for peace.
_____________________________________________
3. Lotem,15 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
I imagine that if people will get to know one another in a better way there will be more peace in the world.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
The main obstacles are people whithout open minds. That doesn’t want to see the other side poit of view and needs.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
On year 5 at my school, we meet whith our same age class muslem nighbours.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I hope to be involved in many more social meatings whith our arab nighbours.
__________________________________________
4. Orel, 14.7 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
I think that every person in this word have to relize that there are many sides exept your own side.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
I think the main obstacles is that many people in the world aren’t open to the other.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
So far I haven’t done much but I always say my opinion in conversations with friends and famaly.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I believe that in a few years I will goin an organization that will hepl the in our country and if I can in all world.
_________________________________________
5. Adi, 15 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
I think that to see ourselves in the “shoes” of others and by that try to understand them better-can bring more peace to our world

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
In my opinion, extremists and fanatica are the main obstacles to peace in our world. We see few examples where people are led and persuaded by extremists to do acts of war and be active against peace.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
I don’t think I dod something to actually promote peace, but I think the fact I’ve been in Jordan many times, and in egypt helps their economy, and leed to connections between the coutries.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I think I can participate in activities together whith palastinions that can improve the mutual understand and help bring and promote peace in the country.
___________________________________________
6. Rachelli, 15 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
If people finally succeed in taking care of the world’s welfare, whith regards to basic needs like food, shelter, education and disease, then ther will be fewer wars because people will feel more content whith their lives and less threatened.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
I think that the main abstacles in the way of peace are a lack of understanding and awareness between people on both sides, which is of course continued by a lack of communication between them.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
Up to today, I have tried to contribute to peace by participating in “children of peace”, which is a project where Arab and Jewish children gather and discuss different issues and eventualy perform a play.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
In the future, in order to further the peace, I will try, to understand more about the Arab-Israeli conflict, to learn about the other side, and try to help find comman ground between us.
_________________________________________
7. Rakefet, 15 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
If nations would communicate better and treat each other with more tollerence can bring peace.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
The main obstacles to peace in the world is the disagreements about which lands belong to which nation.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
I am in a youth movement that promotes peace.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I will di whatever is in my power to bring peace if by voting for a peace promoting prime minister, protesting against war and treating everyone equally.
__________________________________________
8.Yotam, 15 years old
1. Imagine, what can bring more peace to our world?
Maybe getting to know people from different countries and cultures will help us understand that all people are similar.

2. Imagine, what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?
I think that the main abstacles is that there are fanatic people who are willing to do anything to achieve things they want. These people wont compromise.

3. Imagine, what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?
I’m sorry, to say that I have not done enough.

4. Imagine, what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?
I can take part in demonstrations and get to know Arab citizens of Israel-
_____________________________________________________________________________________
---------------------------------------------

... comment